1. Various - Country Funk 1969-1975 Vinyl
  2. Various - Country Funk 1969-1975 Vinyl



Condition: Pre-Owned / Very Good+

Light In The Attic

Regular price $49.99
Double vinyl LP pressing. Outstanding 2012 collection. What in the hell is Country Funk you ask? The answer is a complicated one, in part due to the fact that Country Funk is an inherently defiant genre, escaping all efforts at easy categorization. The style encompasses the elation of gospel with the sexual thrust of the blues, country hoedown harmony with inner city grit. It is alternately playful and melancholic, slow jammin', and booty shakin'. It is both studio slick and barroom raw. And while these all may seem unlikely combinations at first glance, upon close listen, it all makes sweet sense. Country Funk 1969-1975 is a melting pot concoction of the music of Dale Hawkins, John Randolph Marr, Cherokee, Johnny Adams, Mac Davis, Bob Darin, Jim Ford, Gray Fox, Link Wray, Bobby Charles, Tony Joe White, Dennis the Fox, Larry Jon Wilson, Bobbie Gentry, Gritz, and Johnny Jenkins.
1 L.A. Memphis Tyler Texas - Dale Hawkins
2 Hello L.A., Bye-Bye Birmingham - John Randolph Marr
3 Georgia Morning Dew - Johnny Adams
4 Lucas Was a Redneck - Mac Davis
5 Light Blue - Bob Darin
6 I'm Gonna Make Her Love Me - Jim Ford
7 Hawg Frog - Gray Fox
8 Fire and Brimstone - Link Wray
9 Street People - Bobby Charles
10 Funky Business - Cherokee
11 Stud Spider - Tony Joe White
12 Piledriver - Dennis the Fox
13 Ohoopee River Bottomland - Larry Jon Wilson
14 He Made a Woman Out of Me - Bobbie Gentry
15 Bayou Country - Gritz
16 I Walk on Gilded Splinters - Johnny Jenkins

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review

Why Saint Marie Records?