1. Tony Allen And Hugh Masekela - Rejoice Vinyl
  2. Tony Allen And Hugh Masekela - Rejoice Vinyl

Tony Allen And Hugh Masekela


FORMAT: Records & LPs
Condition: New

Other Releases By Tony Allen And Hugh Masekela

World Circuit

Regular price $34.99
‘Rejoice’ is the classic collaboration between Tony Allen, the legendary drummer and co-founder of Afrobeat, and Hugh Masekela, the master trumpet player of South African jazz. The record, released to great acclaim in March 2020, became the first posthumous release from Masekela, and the last release from Allen, who sadly passed away a month later. For this Special Edition, World Circuit have gone back to the original 2010 mixes and added previously unheard parts from the 2019 sessions to create 8 reimagined bonus mixes. The CD and LP releases also feature a booklet with sleeve notes and photos. Having first met in the 70s thanks to their respective close associations with Fela Kuti, the two world-renowned musicians talked for decades about making an album together. When, in 2010, their touring schedules coincided in the UK, the moment presented itself and producer Nick Gold took the opportunity to record their encounter. The unfinished sessions, consisting of all original compositions by the pair, lay in archive until after Masekela passed away in 2018. With renewed resolution, Tony Allen and Nick Gold, with the blessing and participation of Hugh Masekela’s estate, unearthed the original tapes and finished recording the album in summer 2019 at the same London studio where the original sessions had taken place. ‘Rejoice’ can be seen as the long overdue confluence of two mighty African musical rivers – a union of two free-flowing souls for whom borders, whether physical or stylistic, are things to pass through or ignore completely. According to Allen, the album deals in “a kind of South African-Nigerian swing-jazz stew”, with its roots firmly in Afrobeat. Allen and Masekela are accompanied on the record by a new generation of well-respected jazz musicians including Tom Herbert (Acoustic Ladyland / The Invisible), Joe Armon-Jones (Ezra Collective), Mutale Chashi (Kokoroko) and Steve Williamson.

Side A:

1 Robbers, Thugs and Muggers (O'Galajani)
2 Agbada Bougou
3 Coconut Jam
4 Never (Lagos Never Gonna Be the Same)

Side B:

1 Slow Bones
2 Jabulani (Rejoice, Here Comes Tony)
3 Obama Shuffle Strut Blues
4 We've Landed

Side C:

1 Robbers, Thugs and Muggers (O'Galajani) [Cool Cats Mix]
2 Agbada Bougou (Cool Cats Mix)
3 Coconut Jam (Cool Cats Mix)
4 Never (Lagos Never Gonna Be the Same) [Cool Cats Mix]

Side D:

1 Slow Bones (Cool Cats Mix)
2 Jabulani (Rejoice, Here Comes Tony) [Cool Cats Mix]
3 Obama Shuffle Strut Blues (Cool Cats Mix)
4 We've Landed (Cool Cats Mix)

Why Saint Marie Records?