1. Genesis - Archive 1967-75 Vinyl
  2. Genesis - Archive 1967-75 Vinyl



Condition: Pre-Owned / Near Mint


Regular price $49.99
Local Pickup Available?: Yes
Amazon.com The Who needed two rock operas to reach their apex, but Genesis climaxed first time out with The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway. On the live version which takes up half of this four-CD box, the Peter Gabriel-fronted incarnation goes out with a bang, dressing up its art rock in black leather and brass knuckles. Disc 3's live renditions of "Supper's Ready" and "Dancing with the Moonlit Knight" are nearly as powerful, while Disc 4's demos from the embryonic late-'60s lineup offer a pleasing glimpse into the group's folk and psychedelic roots. Expansive yet muscular, this compelling set shows Gabriel and company paving the way for a generation of pop explorers right up through Radiohead. All nostalgia should sound this vital. --Billy Grenier Review On this four-CD box--a live recording of "The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway" plus demos, live tracks and alternate versions--[Peter] Gabriel's raspy charisma elevates many songs beyond their prog pedantry. -- Entertainment Weekly

Side A:

1 The Lamb Lies Down On Broadway
2 Fly On A Windshield
3 Broadway Melody Of 1974
4 Cuckoo Cocoon
5 In The Cage
6 The Grand Parade Of Lifeless Packaging
7 Back In N.Y.C.
8 Hairless Heart
9 Counting Out Time
10 Carpet Crawlers
11 The Chamber Of 32 Doors

Side B:

1 Lilywhite Lilith
2 The Waiting Room
3 Anyway
4 Here Comes The Supernatural Anaesthetist
5 The Lamia
6 Silent Sorrow In Empty Boats
7 The Colony Of Slippermen (Arrival. A Visit To The Doktor, Raven)
8 Ravine
9 The Light Dies Down On Broadway
10 Riding The Scree
11 In The Rapids
12 It

Side C:

1 Dancing With The Moonlit Knight
2 Firth Of Fifth
3 More Fool Me
4 Suppers Ready
5 I Know What I Like
6 Stagnation
7 Twilight Alehouse
8 Happy The Man
9 Watcher Of The Skies (Remix)

Side D:

1 In The Wilderness
2 Shepherd
3 Pacidy
4 Let Us Now Make Love
5 Going Out To Get You
6 Dusk
7 Build Me A Mountain
8 Image Blown Out
9 One Day
10 Where The Sour Turns To Sweet
11 In The Beginning
12 The Magic Of Time
13 Hey!
14 Hidden In The World Of Dawn
15 Sea Bee
16 The Mystery Of The Flannan Isle Lighthouse
17 Hair On The Arms And Legs
18 She Is Beautiful
19 Try A Little Sadness
20 Patricia

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review

Why Saint Marie Records?