1. 14 Iced Bears - 14 Iced Bears Records & LPs Vinyl
  2. 14 Iced Bears - 14 Iced Bears Records & LPs Vinyl

14 Iced Bears

14 Iced Bears

Condition: Pre-Owned / Mint

Other Releases By 14 Iced Bears

Optic Nerve Recordings

Regular price $34.99
Local Pickup Available?: Yes

14 Iced Bears 

The 14 Iced Bears were formed within a vibrant indie scene in Brighton in 1985 by Robert Sekula and drummer Nick Emery, with a punky, DIY pop ethic that held melody as key and technical expertise as less of an issue . They wrote catchy pop songs, recorded with a ramshackle charm that reflected their passion for sixties garage and psychedelia. Inspired by bands like The Byrds, and Velvet Underground  this set them apart from their C86 contemporaries.
They were spotted at their first gig  by-ex Television Personalities bassist Mark Flunder, he decided that he wanted to put out a 14 Iced Bears single on the fledgling Frank Records and  Inside, was released in late 1986. On hearing it, legendary BBC 1 Radio 1 DJ John Peel booked them in for a session. His enthusiasm was evident. He made it one of his sessions of the year and praised each track in turn after playing it. ,Balloon Song was featured in the session and the single version which fronted the bands second single, The Importance of Being Frank EP further consolidated their following. The band toured England and Europe and the press was ecstatic. The late 80s revival of classic guitar-based pop was kind to the 'Bears, and Sekula's talent at penning catchy, twisted melodies earned them a coveted spot as one of the best of the lot. A third single sealed the deal, the raucous Come Get Me on the seminal indie label Sarah Records.
The band went on the release their self-titled debut album in 1988; it was a masterpiece of psychedelic pop that turned a lot of heads with its ambition and skilled songcraft. The album betrayed the influence of sixties psychedelia on the group and became a hit on US college radio.

14 Iced Bears: 14 Iced Bears (2LP Purple Marbled Vinyl)

Limited edition double album pressed on color vinyl. Gatefold sleeve, printed inners. 

Original album plus 12 track bonus LP including all tracks from their first three singles

Why Saint Marie Records?